This earlier website of the Eionet improvement project 2018-19 was terminated on 1 January 2019. Please visit instead the current site under construction ( )

Eionet is a partnership network of the European Environment Agency (EEA) and its 39 member and cooperating countries.

The EEA is responsible for developing Eionet and coordinating its activities, together with national focal points (NFPs) in the countries, based in national environment agencies or environment ministries

The NFPs are responsible for coordinating networks of national reference centres (NRCs), bringing together experts from national institutions and other bodies involved in environmental information.

Apart from NFPs and NRCs, Eionet also includes European Topic Centres (ETCs). There are currently six ETCs. They are consortia of institutions across EEA member countries dealing with a specific environmental topics and contracted by the EEA to perform specific tasks of its work programme.

The Eionet portal serves the network by providing a platform for networking and information sharing as well as tools for collection and management of environmental data and information.


News from across the Eionet

(as on the current portal)

Recently published EEA datasets

(as on the current portal)

Recently uploaded Eurostat datasets with environment relevance

(as on the current portal)